Skip to content

Georgian Drawing Room

November 8, 2010

One of the most elegant periods in architecture and interiors, and a particular favourite of mine, has to be the Georgian period. The style is typified by the tall, elegant terraces and crescents that were built at this time such as the Royal Crescent at Bath. The Georgian period took its influence from the classical art and architecture to be seen in Europe, and particularly Italy, at this time. The tall windows, designed to maximise the views out to the gardens, ensured the rooms felt light and airy. The symmetry of the external, and internal, layouts resulted in a sence of balance and harmony. Decorative mouldings, of wood or plaster, were a prominant feature of the Georgian interior, as was the use of marble. Furniture at this time remained ornate but became far less fussy and much more elegant than had been seen in either the Rococo or Baroque periods.

My design for a Georgian Drawing Room was created using a combination of antique and reproduction furniture. The ‘Ruskin’ sofa by Duresta, based on an early Georgian design, was perfect for a family drawing room and fitted in well with my chosen colour scheme. The wallpaper, Albemarle, was selected from Little Green’s ‘London Papers’ range and is a copy of a Georgian wallpaper design from c.1760.

Everyday lighting at this time, even in the wealthiest of homes, consisted mainly of candles which could be carried from one room to another. They were also sometimes used in wall sconces with a mirror behind to reflect the light into the room. Wealthier homes might have a chandelier in the best room to be used when entertaining on very special occasions . A nice alternative to using a reproduction Georgian chandelier was to use the hand crafted design ‘Overture’, one of the fabulous glass fittings from the Italian company ‘la murrina’ (see the Furniture Presentation Board below).

The chimneypiece was inevitably the main focal point in the Georgian room and fireplace designs from this period incorporate many Classical elements. For my design I choose an elegant George III Neo-classical chimneypiece carved in white Statuary marble with a breakfronted shelf. This has high relief detailing of carved bunches of grapes with vine leaf & ribbon decoration on the central tablet and endblocks. This particular one dates from the late 18th century and was found on the ‘Westland’ website.

Georgian Drawing Room - Mood Board option 1

Georgian Drawing Room - Furniture Presentation Board

Georgian Drawing Room - coloured furniture plan

Geoargian Drawing Room - window elevation

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2011 12:26

    Lovely work here – my favourite period too. Your visuals are beautiful and really get the designs across well. I’m a fellow ex NDA student so great to see you getting on.

    • June 24, 2011 12:22

      Hi Sarah. Thank you for your kind comments. I probably spend far too much time on my visuals but I get a lot of pleasure out of drawing so it feels worthwhile.

  2. Alexandra Karina permalink
    May 8, 2012 13:07

    Really beautiful! I am writting my first asignment about Georgian Style (I am studying at NDA!), your boards and drawings have really inspired me and given me a clearer picture about this period. Many thanks for sharing this 🙂

    • May 14, 2012 20:26

      Thanks for your kind comments Alexandra and all the best with your studies. Be sure to let me know how you get on with your first assignment.

  3. Monika permalink
    July 27, 2012 12:50

    Hi Karen!
    Can’t thank you enough fr your gorgeous georgian presentations,now I know exactly what to do for my first assignment,I’ve been confused uptil now but not any more…….
    thanks

  4. August 31, 2012 05:21

    Hi Karen,

    I recently started my studies in KLC School of Design (open learning course) as well as launched my own blog about interior design. Your blog is just great and I often look into it for inspiration. Your portfolio is amazing – can you tell me which programs did you use to create your mood boards and furniture plans ? – as they look fantastic!
    By the way, can you tell me where did you study?

    • September 1, 2012 13:01

      Hi. Thanks for your comments. I studeied with the National Design Academy, Nottingham (distance learning degree). Plans are drawn using AutoCAD (with the exception of the early ones which were done in Smart Draw) and I normally use CoralDRAW for mood boards/visuals. Hope you are enjoying your course with KLC – I hear they are very good.

      • September 2, 2012 14:04

        Hi Karen, thank you very much for your reply. I will start to learn AutoCAD as from this month. I really enjoy my studies, though sometimes it is really challenging as I need to do a lot of research on my own 🙂

Leave a Reply

