Skip to content

Decoupage Mirror

December 6, 2010

I am a big fan of the TV series `Kirstie’s Homemade Home’ and like Kirstie Alsopp, when I am out and about I am always on the lookout for old pieces of furniture or home accessories to reuse or renovate. This pass-time appeals to me not only because of the obvious eco friendly benefits but also because I find it immensely rewarding as it allows me the opportunity to personalise interior design related items in my home. On a recent visit to the second hand shops in my area I came across this tatty mirror which was ideal for the decoupage project I had in mind for my office.

Tatty Mirror found in second hand shop

I wanted an ‘Interiors’ theme with a monochrome colour palette. To acheive this I selected various photos from my collection of Interior Design magazines. The images were cut out and rough laid to establish their positioning before being glued in place and coated with several layers of clear satin varnish.

Monochrome 'Interiors' themed decoupage mirror

I am really pleased with the finished effect – its a one-off design that cost very little but which will create a big visual impact on entering the room.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Sharon Darlow permalink
    December 11, 2010 16:43

    The mirror looks great! I love second hand shops – you can really find some good bargains 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

