Skip to content

Sewing Box – Renovation Project

January 20, 2011

One of my many ‘craft’ type hobbies is sewing and as for as long as I can remember I have stored my all of my sewing paraphernalia in a very practical, but not particularly attractive, plastic box.  That is until today!  I have just put the finishing touches to my lasted renovation project which was this rather sad-looking sewing box, purchased from a local junk shop.

Old Sewing Box discovered in a local junk shop.

Renovating and personalising furniture is fun and rewarding but if you are planning to have a go yourself remember that, as with decorating, preparation is key if you want to be really happy with the result.

I began by removing the faded pink satin lining and cleaning the box inside and out using soapy water and a sponge to remove any grease and dirt.  When it was dry the outer surfaces were sanded to give a good base on which to apply the white undercoat.  This was followed by two coats of  ‘Little Green‘ acrylic eggshell paint (colourway Stock).  You could use emulsion but I prefer Acrylic eggshell as it’s very durable, hard wearing  and gives a nice sheen that does not require varnish.

Looking a bit sad and in need of face lift.

When the paint was dry the inside of the box was lined with a dramatic, black flocked fabric, creating a strong visual impact when the lid is opened.  The fabric could have been glued in position but I preferred to hold it in place using small carpet tacks.

For the final touch I decided to make the outside more interesting by applying panels of blown vinyl wallpaper to the four recesses.  These were painted in a pale cream emulsion and once dry, the ‘Stock’ acrylic was carefully applied to the raised pattern on the paper.

Old sewing box after being renovated.

The box was painted & decorated with embossed paper

I am really pleased with the result.   My old grey plastic box has been relegated to the garage and in its place I now have a fresh, functional piece of furniture which doesn’t have to be hidden away when not in use!

Sewing box showing the black flocked fabric lining.

The interior features black flocked fabric.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathryn Walters permalink
    February 22, 2012 10:34

    Love this. You’re a real inspiration. I am just about to embark on the Diploma in Interior Design with the NDA with the view to complete a full degree. Your work has given me food for thought, so thank you 🙂

    • February 22, 2012 11:46

      Hi Kathryn. Thank you for your kind message, its always nice to get feedback from readers. I hope you enjoy doing the Diploma course as much as I did! Keep in touch and let me know how you get on.

Leave a Reply

