Skip to content

Recycling Inspiration…..

January 28, 2011

For anyone who likes recycled furniture and accessories the  ‘Ghost’ website can provide lots of inspiration, from tiny painted candlesticks to renovated full size dressers.

Ghost Candelabra - from their archive gallery

I love candles and candelabra’s and seeing this image of a multi-coloured peice was all the encouragement I needed!  With a quick visit to my local antique shop I found several candelabra’s in stock varying in price from £5 up to £16.

This type of item is likely to have accummulated years of dirt, grease and wax so the first thing to do is clean them thoroughly.  I find the easiest way to do this is to take them apart and soak all the components in detergent before scrubbing with a nail brush – fiddly work but worth the effort!

When dry apply a coat of primer/undercoat for metal and allow this to dry thoroughly before applying your top coat.  I liked the idea of combining two colours and selected these from Crown’s ‘Fashion for Walls’ range of breatheasy flat matt emulsion.  Sample pots are all you need.  I love the dark brown ‘Tailored’ and it provides a beautiful contrast to the ‘Bespoke’ green.  The result was a very elegant addition to my ‘finishing touches’ which now takes pride of place in the lounge.

My painted candelabra

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jane Williams permalink
    February 2, 2011 10:23

    I love this!

    • February 2, 2011 11:38

      Hi Jane. Glad you liked it. I could easily get carried away and end up with dozens of painted candelabres – I have done a 2nd one (in a totally different shape) using just the green paint and they look great in the same room.

Leave a Reply

